Archive for November 4th, 2010

11/04/2010

127 hours…. and Counting.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a big fan of film.

Almost two years ago I caught wind (through various film rumour mills) that directory Danny Boyle (some of my favorites of his are Trainspotting, The Beach, 28 Days Later, Slumdog Millionaire) was planning a film project on a remarkable real life story that happened in 2003.  A mountaineer, Arron Ralston, went hiking alone and got pinned in a crevasse by a loose bolder.  He never told anyone where he was hiking that day and knew that no one was searching for him.  He survived 5 days, trying to unwedge himself, confident he was going to die there.  After running out of his supplies he remarkably amputated his own arm to free himself but still had to rappel down a 65 foot sheer wall, hike out of the canyon in midday heat and hike 8 miles in order to reach his truck.  During the hike to his truck he was eventually found my searchers.

I think this story hit everyone when we all heard about it back then.  It really is a remarkable survival story.  So…when I caught wind that Boyle was making this a film (sweet) and that James Franco was to play Ralston (awesomer, one of my very favorite actors) I was anxious and excited for it to come out!

 

What was unexpected, was to have a friend of mine go hiking one day in August and not be seen from again.

 

This movie, 127 Hours, comes out tomorrow; and I am unexpectedly emotional about it.  So strongly do I want to see it and yet i don’t know if I can sit in a theater for a two hour reminder of my missing friend.  There is enough in my day that brings him to mind already.  I don’t know if I can watch (an already Oscar buzzed performance) of my favorite actor dealing with what he thinks are the last days of his life; the pain and struggle, the determination and grief and the will and struggle for survival.

It is yet to be determined if I’ll go see this film that I’ve been waiting to come out, it might end up being something that I have to do….